Babaji Pide

Turkish, Turkish, Turkish.

There are so many Turkish restaurants and it’s fast becoming my go-to cuisine. I find that however many Turkish restaurants I visit I’m guaranteed to leave satisfied. That’s why I think Turkish is a safe choice in London. Because the cuisine also has some similarities to Bulgarian food (the motherland) eating this type of food makes me feel nostalgic for my roots.

From my reviews you will quickly realise I always have an ayran to drink – the salty drink made by mixing water and thick plain yoghurt. The bottle at Babaji Pide was quite small and so I didn’t have a problem saying yes to another.

Starters – I resisted going for my normal Borek (filo pastry filled with spinach and feta) and instead opted from the fried calamari which were deliciously crispy. I also couldn’t pass up the houmous which came with a generous portion of bread.

Mains – For mains we tried the less commonly served Turkish dish Pide (in the name of the restaurant). The menu helpfully explains that “Pide, sometimes called ‘Turkish pizza, is a boat-shaped flat bread with a variety of toppings”. Our choice was Afyon. The bread was soft and fresh, coming out straight from the furnace across from our table.

We also tried the Manti – beef ravioli served in the traditional way with just yogurt as a sauce.

The restaurant is small and narrow but don’t be fooled by the ground floor, it has plenty of additional seating upstairs.

If you’re in Soho, you can find this restaurant opposite the Les Mis theatre, near Picadilly Circus.

http://www.babaji.com.tr/everything

Menu

Leave a Comment

